Skip over navigation

Health and safety

Forum

School uniform policy

This thread has been locked so no more comments can be added.

wayne fearn
Member - 165 posts
13 Nov 2011 10:33PM

Hi Linda Smith,

Slightly off topic:

I am no doctor but there is plenty of evidence to suggest that shoes with even a slight heel (even the ones worn by men and boys) are causing huge problems with lower back pain.

After evolving for 100,000 years to run around with bare feet I would disagree with anyone who suggests that flat bottom shoes are bad for you, in fact I would challenge their argument on the basis of evolution and the fact that shoes/trainers are damaging.

I have flat feet played rugby for years, trained in martial arts for 20 years (bare footed) and was never given orthotics for my shoes but given foot exercises to strengthen the muscles.

On topic:

Labelling anyone is a prejudice and children especially do not have the reasoning power or experience to not start pointing fingers and maybe bullying. Being different is ok because we all have our disabilities in life.

Mark
Member - 63 posts
11 Nov 2011 10:15AM

School uniforms were introduced as a supposed social class 'leveller'; a kind of watered down version of Mao's 'pyjamas', I guess. Badges highlighting personal medical problems would surely serve the opposite, albeit in a non-class distinctive way.

It would seem to me that the objection to ballet style shoes in this case is more about suppression of individual expression (or fashion statements) rather than a legitimate H&S issue, as hinted. H&S once again utilised as trojan horse.

Back in the late 70's my old Grammar school outright banned the wearing of Doc Martens as unsuitable school footwear(!) whilst ignoring the outgoing (ie established) trend of precarious platforms, but the wearing of trainers was punishable by death (Ok slight exaggeration - you'd be sent home, same if you had no top button).